Gray-headed goldfinch (Carduelis caniceps)

17187Gray-headed goldfinch (lat. Carduelis caniceps) – songbird family of finches vorobinobraznyh squad. Sometimes this type is treated as a subspecies of black-goldfinch (lat. Carduelis carduelis caniceps).

From black-goldfinch distinguished by the absence of black and pure white, slightly larger. Length of about 15-17 cm, wing 7,9-8,6 cm wingspan of about 25-30 cm; weight 17-23 g Painting brownish-gray color on the back, head and chest. Male and female did not differ in color from each other. Under the base of the beak in males there is a broad red stripe, in females it is somewhat narrower.

Common in the southern parts of Siberia and east to the Altai, in East Kazakhstan and Central Asia. To the south of its range extends to northern India.

Lifestyle and habits are very similar to blackheads Goldfinch. More connected to the Highlands. This is mainly sedentary birds, they fly only short distances in search of food. They eat a variety of seeds, especially weed seeds (burdock, horse sorrel, burdock). During the harvest of seeds eaten in the Tien Shan goes to power them, deftly pulling flying detachment of cones parted his thin sharp beak. Gather in small flocks. Song less calls, but softer and more melodic than the black-headed goldfinches.

Spring high off the ground (at a height of 4-6 m) on the trees begin to build nests bowl shape with thick side walls and rounded depth trays. The side walls of the core suite of thin and flexible stems and roots of herbaceous plants, closely interwoven with each other and fastened with cobwebs. Outside the walls of the nest woven pieces of moss, vegetation fluff, scraps of birch bark, lichens. The litter consists mainly of plant down (mostly willow and poplar) with a mixture of horse hair, wool and feathers. Hole diameter of 90-100 mm, 40-55 mm diameter pan, depth tray 25-40 mm. Chicks feed on insects.

Седоголовый щегол (Carduelis caniceps)

17187Седоголовый щегол (лат. Carduelis caniceps) — певчая птица семейства вьюрковых отряда воробьинобразных. Иногда данный вид рассматривают как подвид черноголового щегла (лат. Carduelis carduelis caniceps).

От черноголового щегла отличается отсутствием чёрного и чисто-белого, немного крупнее. Длина около 15-17 см, крыла 7,9-8,6 см, размах крыла около 25-30 см; вес 17-23 г. Окраска буровато-серого цвета на спине, голове и груди. Самка и самец по окраске не отличаются друг от друга. Под основанием клюва у самцов имеется широкая красная полоса, у самок она несколько уже.

Распространён в южных частях Сибири и на востоке до Алтая, в Восточном Казахстане и Средней Азии. На юг его ареал простирается до Северной Индии.

Образ жизни и повадки очень сходны с черноголовым щеглом. Более связан с горными местностями. Это в основном осёдлые птицы, летают они на небольшие расстояния только в поисках корма. Питаются разнообразными семенами, особенно семенами сорняков (репейник, конский щавель, лопух). В годы урожая семян ели в Тянь-Шане переходит на питание ими, ловко доставая летучки из приоткрытых шишек своим тонким острым клювом. Собираются небольшими стаями. Песня менее звонкая, но более мягкая и мелодичная, чем у черноголовых щеглов.

Весной высоко от земли (на высоте 4-6 м) на деревьях начинают строить гнёзда чашевидной формы с толстыми боковыми стенками и округлым углублённым лоточком. Боковые стенки остова свиты из тонких и гибких стебельков и корешков травянистых растений, плотно переплетённых между собой и скреплённых паутиной. Снаружи в стенки гнезда вплетены кусочки мха, растительного пуха, обрывки берёзовой коры, лишайники. Подстилка состоит в основном из растительного пуха (чаще всего ивы и тополя) с примесью конского волоса, шерсти и перьев. Диаметр гнезда 90-100 мм, диаметр лотка 40-55 мм, глубина лотка 25-40 мм. Птенцов выкармливают насекомыми.