The Siskins (Carduelis spinus)

Carduelis_spinus_maleSiskin (lat. Carduelis spinus) – one of the species of songbirds of the family of finches, passerine. Distributed in Eurasia, as a rule, in the coniferous forests. Finches are often kept at home, in the cells for their singing.

The body length is about 12 cm and weighs 12-14 g

The general color is greenish-yellow or olive-green color, with indistinct dark spots from the bottom – with yellow spots. Black, the base of the steering and most of the primaries – yellow. The beak is gray. The male differs from the female cap of black feathers on the head. ?

Spread
Usual in the entire forest area of ‚Äč‚ÄčEurope and Asia, preferring coniferous forests and mountainous terrain. In the former USSR lives in the zone of coniferous forests in the Crimea, the Caucasus and forests of Kazakhstan.

Way of life
Summer lives in pairs; the autumn is going to more or less significant flocks. Winter flocks migrate to the short distances, especially in river valleys with thickets of deciduous trees. Autumn span siskins begins in late September, but some finches does not fly away for the winter, not only in the middle, but even in the north of Russia, if it encounters ice-streams or rivers.

Nutrition
It feeds on insects (aphids and other small insects) and seeds of coniferous and deciduous trees; autumn favorite food siskins make birch and alder seeds. Siskins keep mainly on the tops of tall trees, only occasionally going down to the ground.

Reproduction

Carduelis spinus
Nests are usually on the firs or pines. Nests, suites of thin branches, blades of grass, lichen and moss, placed so high in the trees (not less than 10 m), and so cleverly hidden that can be found only by accident.

Masonry, consisting of 4-6 pale blue-green eggs with dark spots and dashes, sometimes alone, sometimes twice a year, in April and the end of June. Female incubates for 12 days. The chicks are fed on insects, especially caterpillars small bare

Чиж (Carduelis spinus)

Carduelis_spinus_maleЧиж (лат. Carduelis spinus) — один из видов певчих птиц из семейства вьюрковых, отряда воробьинообразных. Распространён в Евразии, как правило, в хвойных лесах. Чижей часто держат в домашних условиях, в клетках, ради их пения.

Длина тела составляет около 12 см, весит 12—14 г.

Общая окраска зеленовато-жёлтого или оливково-зелёного цвета, с неясными тёмными пятнами, снизу — с жёлтыми пятнами. Чёрный, основание рулевых и большей части маховых — жёлтое. Клюв серый. Самец отличается от самки шапочкой из чёрных перьев на голове.

Распространение

Водится во всей лесной области Европы и Азии, предпочитая хвойные леса и гористые местности. На территории бывшего СССР обитает в зоне хвойных лесов, в лесах Крыма, Кавказа и борах Казахстана.

Образ жизни
Летом живёт парами; к осени собирается в более или менее значительные стаи. Зимой стайками откочёвывает на небольшие расстояния, особенно по долинам рек с зарослями лиственных деревьев. Осенний пролёт чижа начинается в конце сентября, но часть чижей не улетает на зиму не только в средней, но даже в северной России, если встречает незамерзающие ручьи или речки.

Питание
Питается насекомыми (тлями и другими мелкими насекомыми) и семенами хвойных и лиственных деревьев; осенью любимую пищу чижа составляют семена берёзы и ольхи. Чижи держатся преимущественно на вершинах высоких деревьев, спускаясь только изредка на землю.

Размножение

Carduelis spinus
Гнездится обычно на елях или соснах. Гнёзда, свитые из тонких веточек, травинок, лишайников и мха, располагаются так высоко на деревьях (не ниже 10 м) и так искусно прячутся, что могут быть найдены лишь случайно.

Кладка, состоящая из 4—6 бледно-голубовато-зелёных яиц с тёмными пятнами и чёрточками, бывает один, иногда два раза в год: в апреле и в конце июня. Насиживает самка в течение 12 дней. Птенцы выкармливаются насекомыми, в особенности голыми гусеницами мелких бабочек.